Spanish Style Bean and Chorizo Stew

I am trying so hard to get into the swing of Autumn. It is my absolute favourite season and my enjoyment of it is being scuppered by the 25 C heat we are still experiencing most days here in the South of France. I want crisp, cold mornings and wild, rainy nights where the wind is howling through the trees. But we don’t always get everything we want so instead I will settle for this. It was a little bit of what I wanted, and although its warming stewy goodness is not necessarily needed here, I thought it might be needed elsewhere and so share it I will.

This evening I cooked a Spanish style stew for dinner…as I haven’t been to the shops today and yet I somehow have enough of the ingredients to make this deliciously simple supper. I am currently slightly obsessive about smoked paprika; I am in love…and this dish is made into pure heaven by the smokey, sweet flavour of the paprika in a good chorizo sausage.

Bean and Chorizo Stew

How cool are these beans!!

How many cows would these fetch I wonder?

How many cows would these fetch I wonder?

White beans, chorizo, onion, garlic, red pepper, tin tomatoes, large glass of red wine (and one for the chef…), seasoning, smoked paprika.

Fry the chorizo until the lovely picante oil is starting to leak out. Add the chopped onion, garlic and red pepper, cooking until they are soft. Stir in the wine, allowing it to simmer for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes and some seasoning. Cook for about twenty minutes, or until the sauce is nice and thick. Add the beans, cooking for another twenty minutes so they are cooked through, soft but with a little bite still. Serve with thick crusty bread, maybe a little rice and a large glass of oomphy, Spanish red wine.

Leave a Reply

